Family Eats

Minty Fruit Ice Cubes

Here in sunny island Singapore, it’s summer all year round. But in recent weeks, temperatures have reached a high of 36°C, and it is no joke when I finally gets 5 minutes of mama’s me-time in the shower, only to be all drenched in perspiration again 5 minutes after (no kidding!).

It didn’t take me long before I decided what to make of that healthy bunch of mint (leftovers from making 2 rounds of mint sniff bottles) I have sitting in the fridge. I decided to make some mint ice cubes to help me fight the heat.

Just take a look at this:

 

And this:

 

And how about this? 

 

You want some too? Here’s the good news! It’s takes mere minutes to prepare.

Here’s a simple guide in case you need one:

  1. Pluck and wash some mint leaves.
  2. Chiffonade them.
  3. Cut some other fruits too if you like. I added some blueberries and strawberries.
  4. Add mint leaves and cut fruits into a ice cube tray
  5. Fill the tray with cool boiled water. (You can use tap water too, but here’s why I preferred boiled water over tap!)
  6. Put the ice tray into the freezer to set (I would say at least a good 4 hours at least?)

Now when you feel an iced drink calling out to you, just pop one or two of these mint fruity ice cubes out and pour some soda (or even just water) over. It’s perfect when you have friends over- a fancy drink always catches the eye.

Now excuse me while I make myself a glass of that to beat the heat!

One thought on “Minty Fruit Ice Cubes

Leave a Reply

