Baby Eats · Toddler Eats

Lotus Root Soup

I always love a good bowl of soup, which completes a meal. I can eat good soup with rice anytime. When C started solids, I also prepare soup-porridge for her. Because of this, I make sure my soups are always nutrients packed, cooked with real fresh foods. As both the husband and I work during the day, I don’t always have the luxury of time to cook after work. Hence whenever we do eat home (not at our parents’), I will try to make sure we have at least a hearty bowl of soup. I use the slow cooker to cook the soups. I will pre-blanched and prepare the ingredients the night before, throw them all into the slow cooker in the morning before I leave for work and voila, a pot of soup for dinner at the end of the day!

In this post I am going to share with a simple recipe for lotus root soup (red about the nutritional facts of lotus root here)


To make lotus root soup, you will need:

  • 1 large lotus root
  • 300g pork bones (I usually use pork but I am using chicken bones here: about 1 whole and 2 thigh bones)
  • 4-5 red dates or honey dates
  • A palmful of goji berries
  • 1.5-2 litres water
  • Salt to taste
  1. Blanch the bones to get rid of the impurities and such.
  2. Wash, peel and slice the lotus root.
  3. Rinse the other ingredients.
  4. Place all ingredients in slow cooker and fill up the pot with water.
  5. Cook on high for 3 hours or low for 6 hours.
  6. Season with salt to taste.

Leave a Reply

