Baby Eats · Family Eats · Toddler Eats

Rose Orh Nee

While doing our usual marketing at the wet market, I noticed a really beautiful batch of yam so I bought a small one to make some orh nee. A short story of my new found love for yam. I have never been a fan of yam, other than the Hakka abacus, until C started solids. While searching for other possible food options and combinations, I decided to use yam as one of the carb bases. As yam are usually huge, I had quite a bit of leftover after freezing a batch for C. I decided to attempt to make some orh nee, which is one of my husband’s favourite dessert. Nope I have never eaten orh nee before. After referencing a couple of recipes online, I came up with a rather clean version of it. Not too bad and I do crave for yam, specially orh nee, since then!


Orh Nee, also known as yam paste, is a traditional Teochew dessert often served at wedding dinners. The really good ones are traditionally made with lard and scallion oil. For this clean version which is also suitable for babies (I’ll elaborate a little on this later), I have replaced [{ with extra virgin coconut oil.

To make rose orh nee, you will need (serves about 4-5):

  • 1 small yam
  • 1 tablespoon dried rose buds*
  • 3 tablespoon extra virgincoconut oil
  • Few blades of pandan leave
  • Water
  • Sweetener of choice (I made rose-pandan rock sugar syrup)
  1. Wash and slice off the skin of yam. Cut into chunks.
  2. Rinse rose buds and pandan leaves with water
  3. Steam yam chunks with rose buds and pandan leaves,  till yam is soft
  4. Using a blender, add water and blend the yam to a desired consistency.
  5. Stir in coconut oil and sweetener to desired sweetness.

*Peonies were used in the photos but their fragrance was not as strong as roses, just a sweet powdery scent like the actual peonies. I tried to make another batch using dried roses and it was a lot more aromatic.

While this dessert is usually eaten hot, I had mine chilled, mixed with some peach purée and strawberry apple sauce for breakfast. Dessert for breakfast? Anytime!  

I also sent a batch into the freezer so that we can have some orh nee ice cream!  

If you are making this for your baby, skip the sweetener and stir in your favourite fruit purée instead, like the version I had for breakfast. Use fruits that are sweeter in nature such as apple, banana, mango peach etc.

Leave a Reply

